Wondering Aloud

Where do the lines of romance, love and worship blend together? Why do we want to be beautiful, if not to be loved, and do we ever want to be loved without wanting to be worshiped?

Why are superlatives so addictive? I loved it, hated it, most, on and on. Do we no longer know how to express thoughts between “meh” and “mind blown”?

It seems to me that more and more, weaknesses are flaunted. Well, I have ADHD; Well, I had a messed up past; Well, I struggle with depression. I don’t think stoic silence is the way to go, that certain things should only be spoken of in hushed tones and shamed. But I do wonder if it’s really helpful to make everything into a public matter; there’s quite a gap between “silence” and “broadcasting.” Isn’t there a way we could talk about these things without using them as things that define us?

How do you expose the deepest parts of yourself without alienating others? Our spiritual beliefs and our sense of morality lie deeply at the core of who we are. . .yet often when these topics are broached, the conversations turn awkward at best.

Do you really have to make friends, or are true friendships grown almost effortlessly? If it takes that much effort to get off the ground, is it worth wrestling with?

Is it good or bad to paint fairytales in your head, and, regardless, is there really any avoiding it? I begin to think there is nothing that we don’t, truly, have expectations for.

Is civilization worth it? What do we really gain, and what does it really mean to be civilized?

There has got to be a balance between fostering hopes and dreams for the future and living in the present, but I cannot for the life of me find it or define it.

Why? What are you thinking about?

2 thoughts on “Wondering Aloud

  1. “There has got to be a balance between fostering hopes and dreams for the future and living in the present, but I cannot for the life of me find it or define it.” I know. Oh, how I know. I long for easy answers and resolution for the tension, but part of me wonders if the tension is exactly why God is allowing my life to take the path it has. He works on me best in the tension, because I can’t be comfortable, I can’t be complacent, and He becomes my only rest.

  2. I sometimes think you can read deeper things in my words than what I think I’ve written, but I am honored, because that’s what I think real art is: when one can read their own life into what is presented.

Leave a Reply

