Letters. . .

Dear God,

I have, literally, no idea what you are doing. Like, none. Every time I think maybe I understand what direction you’re headed, I find out I’m wrong.

Love,

Your Confused Daughter

Understanding is not the pre-requisite that many people seem to think it is.

Dear God,

People say it’s impossible to screw up your plan. Is that true? Because this seems pretty momentous to me, and if I’m totally messed up, I think the rest of my life will be, too.

Love,

The Cowardly Lion

Wait, you mean this life? This tiny, fleeting thing? That’s what you’re worried about?

Dear God,

Is it wrong to want to be able to enjoy life? It’s not that I’m scared of working hard; it’s just that I don’t want to be sad and miserable all the time. Is it okay to just have a good time?

Love,

A Recovering (hah!) Perfectionist

What’s stopping you?

Dear God,

Some people act like worrying about money is a really bad thing, but then other people act like keeping our “house” perfectly in order and controlled and planned is the only holy thing to do, because otherwise we’re being bad stewards. Am I being a bad steward if I don’t know how the money is going to work out?

Love,

I Didn’t Win the Lottery Yet

It’s all mine even if it doesn’t look like it’s all yours.

Dear God,

Am I throwing away my life by taking a chance on something I don’t understand, or would I be throwing away my life by staying safe?

Love,

I Don’t Want to Waste This Thing

None of my followers are safe in the world, but all of them are safe in me.

Dear God,

How am I supposed to follow you if I have no idea where you are?

Love,

Wandering

Keep looking.

Dear God,

Why don’t you have an email address? Because I keep checking my email looking for answers, and I’m not getting any.

Love,

Email for teh Win

Maybe you’re asking the wrong questions.

Dear God,

You know what? Some days I doubt my ability to even be a human. What am I doing here being a human if I can’t even do a reasonable job at that?

Love,

Feeling Defective

I made you a human. I define what a human even is.

Dear God,

I know you’re all-powerful and everything, but then how come we don’t see miracles all the time?

Love,

Waiting for the Explosion

Maybe you aren’t watching.

Dear God,

Everyone gives these very pat, trite little answers about you, and try to simplify you down to one concept or idea. They aren’t very satisfying, but I need answers.

Love,

Still Confused.

You do?

Dear God,

What if I screw up?

Love,

At the Precipice

I’ll save you.

Dear God,

Why don’t you save now?

Love,

Still Scared.

‘Now’ is a very interesting concept. . .

Dear God,

Can you at least tell me if I’m headed in the right direction?

Love,

Lost with a Really Crappy Map

You’re writing to me; so, yes.

Leave a Reply

