I saw a sign.

I saw a sign that said, “Enjoy freedom.”

I think it was on a Veteran Memorial sign, but it really caught me upside the face.

Do we have freedom? Yes, in so many different ways, we have a lot of freedom. Do we enjoy it? In so many different ways, it seems like we’re kind of indifferent to it. We don’t savor it. We don’t delight in it. We just kind of vaguely know that it’s there and get on with our lives, as though this is the way it’s always been, and this is the way it will always be–sort of like the weather.

This can be brought to mind my so many things. . .watching a movie set in the French revolution. . .reading the news about Ukraine. . .maybe other things first come to your mind.

I also thought of it in relation to my last post. God offers the ability to rest, but how often do we accept it? We have the freedom to be at peace, and yet we pre-occupy ourselves with worries and anxieties. We have many good things available to us, but how often do we enjoy them?

They say, “You never know how good you’ve got it, until you don’t.” I think that could be true, but I don’t think it has to be true. We can turn our eyes to the things we take for granted. Like the weather. And freedom. And grace. But maybe sometimes we have to be reminded to do that, to turn our eyes.

Leave a Reply

